Pet Peeve 1: Misuse of Scripture

Recently we received a request from a Christian magazine to support their efforts. It is a reputable magazine that we enjoy very much. When I looked at their donation sheet they had a Scripture quote: “The Lord gave the word: great was the company of those that published it.” Psalm 68:11 (KJV). This really gets my goat – misusing a Scripture as a way to gain money!

Now, I don’t know how they intended this Scripture to be taken but the way it reads to me is: they are a great company because they publish God’s word. I don’t know if they intended it to be a humorous almost tongue in cheek chuckle for the sake of fundraising.

Nevertheless, it irked me and made me laugh at the same time.

Here are the three words that get me in how they we used:

Great – used to mean “awesome, super”, true meaning “many”

Company – used to mean “corporation” (specifically “us”), true meaning “group, army”

Published – used to mean “publish as a magazine”, true meaning “announce”

So anyway, this is my rant about something quite small.

Ok. This is my first pet peeve. What are yours?

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

WordPress Tags: Pet Peeve, Scripture, Christian, magazine, donation, Psalm, money, Great, Company, corporation, army

~ by Dale on December 13, 2008.

One Response to “Pet Peeve 1: Misuse of Scripture”

  1. I don’t like it when people use scripture out of context or even as a joke. Too many people take that the wrong way. I wouldn’t even go down that path.

Leave a Reply

 
