What’s in Your Bible?

Intentional Disciples has a link to an interesting chart that shows which books of the Bible are considered canonical in the various Christian traditions. I had been aware of the Apocrypha and its use in the Catholic and mainline Protestant traditions (also used in the Amish tradition). But I was totally unaware of the vast variety of Scriptures that are used in other traditions.

I think this is a valuable to get a basic understanding of the Christian canon and various traditions. I would love to read the various books that are not part of the Protestant canon.

What's in Your Bible? Find out at BibleStudyMagazine.com

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

WordPress Tags: Bible, Christian, traditions, Apocrypha, Catholic, Protestant, Amish, tradition, Scriptures, canon, Disciples

~ by Dale on December 29, 2008.

2 Responses to “What’s in Your Bible?”

  1. Thanks for posting this. It is a great resource. I just finished a set of lectures on New Testament Canon by Bart Ehrman. I have always been fascinated with what ‘is’ canon since I found out about the Ethiopian canon. I was planning to post a blog on the topic of the differences from Western Christian traditions with the Ethiopian. One reason I am fascinated is that this is another Christianity that does not have strong Greco Roman influences.

  2. Thanks Donald. Your coming post on the Western and Ethiopian traditions sounds wonderful. I too am interested in the differences between West and other Christian traditions. I am just beginning to understand how my thinking is less about God and more about Western culture. Please let me know when you post this article to your blog. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
