Dimensions of Thought

Last week, I began to discuss the ideas of multi-dimensional thought. I really don’t have anything to go upon except my own ideas. I have looked briefly for web resources and haven’t found anything. I have some books on the way but until then I want to see if we can cover some territory.

I guess where we need to start is with trying to understand what dimensions of thought may be. I guess I will approach this linguistically – what types of writing do we do and how do they relate to geometric shapes.

Dimensions Geometry Linguistics Response Notes
0 Single point Command Obedience Relates to objective truth, fact. Gravity is obeyed because it is singular. Deistic religions would say that the Supreme Being is singular and thus the truth of the Deity must be obeyed.
1 Line Simple logic Cause and Effect Natural law and reason are ways that we relate linearly. May also relate to the beginning of Christian thought: God said this for such and such reason. We should obey God because of the benefits.
2 Square Complex logic Reason More complex arguments involve the interrelationships of various arguments.
3 Cube Story and poetry Art “Normal” human experience, art and higher logic. Interrelationships are more complex.
4 Tesseract Unknown* Art and Logic* See Wikipedia’s Fourth Dimension. There are two types of 4D space – Euclidean and Minkowski.
I wonder if Schoenberg’s twelve tone technique is musically within this realm.
* These are the areas that I would like to explore and see if there are methods of relating in the 4th dimension.

I’m leaning towards a Euclidean space versus a Minkowski space. Minkowski space is basically adding time to the standard 3 dimensions. Linguistically this would lead to story or poetry over time. Thus we end up with history or experience. This is unsatisfactory as a method for critical interpretation within a singular text.

Euclidean space holds the (hope) for internal investigation of a text. By measuring the distance between key words or ideas, there may develop patterns and shapes that suggest a deeper logic than previously appreciated. If these patterns do exist, it may be possible to develop rules for grammar and composition.

Your thoughts?

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
WordPress Tags: Dimensions, Thought, Geometry, Linguistics, Command, Obedience, truth, fact, Deistic, Supreme, Line, logic, Cause, Effect, Natural, Christian, benefits, Square, Complex, Reason, arguments, Cube, Story, poetry, human, Interrelationships, Tesseract, Wikipedia, Fourth, Dimension, Euclidean, Minkowski, Schoenberg, technique, realm, history, method, interpretation, investigation, words, rules, grammar, composition, religions, methods

~ by Dale on January 15, 2009.

2 Responses to “Dimensions of Thought”

  1. I am not great with linguistics. However, I understand and can follow what it is you are going for. In order for me to have any intelligible comments, I am going to have to think about this one for a while. Actually, it is going to drive me crazy and I won’t be able to stop thinking about it.

  2. Neither am I good with linguistics. When I began to think about this, it drove me nuts. That is why I’m taking it to the blogosphere: to discipline my mind to think about it and see what creative minds can come up with. I can’t wait to hear what you can find.

Leave a Reply

 
